A New Way Forward for Theatre – NDATT Announces AGM

After a three month membership drive and  revitalisation campaign, The National Drama Association of Trinidad and Tobago (NDATT) has announced that their Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held on Sunday 23rd July, 10AM at the Little Carib Theatre.

According to a release by the NDATT Caretaker Committee, the main agenda of this AGM; after the out-going President’s, Treasurer’s and Secretary’s reports, will be the election of a new executive committee.

NDATT is the only statutory body that represents the interests of theatre in Trinidad and Tobago and it needs new and vibrant young voices and energy. It needs a new, young direction from a new generation. The older generation will make itself available to assist, guide and mentor at all times, but the theatre in T&T needs new vigour to take it forward.”  

The release said.

Natioal Drama Association of Trinidad and Tobago NDATT Michael Cherrie, Penelope Spencer, Theresa Awai, Dr. Efebo Wilkinson, Dr. Helmer hilwig, Safa Niamat-Ali, Trevor Jadunath
NDATT Caretaker Committee: (Left to Right) Michael Cherrie, Penelope Spencer, Theresa Awai, Dr. Efebo Wilkinson, Dr. Helmer hilwig, Safa Niamat-Ali and Trevor Jadunath (Missing: Tony Hall) | Photo credit: Triston Wallace

Any financial member of NDATT can nominate another financial member to for a position on the NDATT Executive Committee. Of course, the candidate with the majority of votes will be elected to the post; but first you have to be a financial member of NDATT.

The following are the eight positions to be filled on the Executive committee: President, Vice President, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Treasurer, Public Relations Officer, Education Officer and Resource Development Officer. Each elected Executive committee serves the association for a term of two (2) years.

Additionally, the NDATT membership will be required to elect two persons to the post of Trustee.

Some of the things the National Drama Association of Trinidad and Tobago hads been working on before they became dormant were:

  • The formation of a collective bargaining body for actors and performers (working title being “The Actors’ Guild”, with similar bodies eventually representing the remuneration and employment interests of directors, playwrights, designers, stage managers, stage crew, technicians etc.) with plans of it becoming a theatre-wide labour union;,
  • The establishment of an Annual National Theatre Festival that invites performances and productions from all theatre companies and holds workshops and symposiums.;
  • The re-establishment of the Cacique Awards for excellence in theatre;.
  • Nation-wide intellectual property policies and licensing codes of conduct with respect to the use and production of works from local playwrights, composers, choreographers and designers;.
  • Forging working relationships with bodies like the Secondary Schools Drama Association, National Dance Association, Independent Media Producers Association, the Filmmaker’s Collective;.
  • Participating in and contributing to regional and international theatre and performing arts festivals,
  • A continued partnership with the New Play Theatre Festival;.
  • Support for the development of new theatre companies for all types of theatre and new work coming out of those companies.;
  • Continuous workshops, seminars and symposiums. 

The new Executive may want to continue working towards the development of these activities or develop new and exciting ones. This is the opportunity to do so…to drive the direction of theatre in T&T!

Related: NDATT Elects a New Executive

NDATT invites all persons involved in theatre to (whether on stage or behind the scenes) to join, vote, elect a new Executive, and take ownership in the NDATT – the body that represents the interests of theatre in Trinidad and Tobago. Membership fees are as follows: Individual membership – $25, student membership – $10 (must show your student ID), and group membership is $100. Hard copy membership forms and registration fees will be collected on the morning of the AGM between 9:00 am to 9:45 am. 


NDATT’s 2017 Annual General Meeting will be held on Sunday 23rd July, 10AM (Registration begins at 9AM ) at the Little Carib Theatre, cor. Roberts and White Street, Woodbrook. Refreshments will be served. [RSVP HERE]

For more information email: nationaldramatnt@gmail.com, call Trevor Jadunath (outgoing president) at 622-4644, or go to the facebook page at www.facebook.com/dramafuhso.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s